Fear of Striking Out

The greatest baseball player of all time is arguably Babe Ruth. One of his most famous quotes was..

Don’t let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game.”

Now, I have heard and read that quote everywhere but it’s amazing how true it is. As I mentioned in my premier post Friday evening, today was my first Crossfit competition with a partner at my gym- Crossfit Mt. Laurel. 

To make things more nerve-wracking is I’ve never met my workout partner for today until 8am. God has a sense of humor sometimes and it was proven today when I discovered my partners name. Faith.

How cool is that! I can’t make this stuff up.

Anyway, we had three WODs (Workout of the Day) setup for this in-house competition.

WOD 1: 8 minute AMRAP (As Many Rounds As Possible) of 20 Power Snatches 95/55 and 20 Box Jumps 24/20. Partners could split reps as one person works at a time.

We did really good, I think. Faith did great, she worked really hard. We may have worked too fast but there was lots of adrenaline and excitement going into this so naturally we moved fast. The final two minutes was rough. The power snatches felt heavy by this point and my form, as always, began to suffer. We battled through and finished strong.

Only negative I have about this competition is the wait time between each heat. Okay, it’s not a negative but because i’m overtly competitive I wanted to keep going. Sitting here typing this I’m grateful for those breaks. Haha.

WOD 2: 8 minutes to find a one rep max of the Clean and Jerk. 

Good work by all here. I came into this workout with a Clean and Jerk ORM of 145lbs. Definitely my weakest workout but I PR’d at 165lbs! So, that’s a 20lb jump. I’ll take it and run after the week I had. Still in agony.

WOD 3: 10 minute AMRAP (Already explained this above) 100 burpees while partner holds wall ball. Once 100 burpees are accomplished max amount of wall ball throws until time ends.

Boy, this was the workout I feared the most. By this juncture my body is wiped. My arms are weak, legs are cooked, and fatigue began to set in. Testing week is rough on the body because we test our limits and try to hit our best lifts. It takes a toll mentally and physically. I love it. I love the pain.

Faith and I did it, together as a team. We finished the final workout of the day and were able to get through the 100 burpees and wall ball throws before the 10 minute timer went off.

Competition over.

I had legitimate fear going into today. Why? I’ve been doing Crossfit for five months. Most of the competitors have doing this for at least 1-2 years. I wanted to step outside of comfort zone and do this. I wanted to be comfortable being uncomfortable. And it was tremendous. I enjoyed every second of this gig today. I want to thank my partner, Faith, for supporting me every step of the way. She busted her butt and deserved to feel a sense of accomplishment. Good for you, it was a pleasure.

So, bringing this all back around to my Ruth quote. Don’t let fear keep you from accomplishing your calling. Don’t let fear strap you to your couches or gaming systems. Get out and DO something. Be active, test your limits. The human body can do unbelievable things but it’s our mind that drags us down.

Finale:

What’s left of this Saturday? Well, I’m going to sit on my couch, watch Criss Angel ‘Mindfreak’ OnDemand and then prepare myself for an incredible Mexican dinner with my Fiancè and two incredible friends. Then Sunday, I’ll be heading down to Washington to watch the Philadelphia Eagles square off against the Redskins (can I still that name?).

Prediction: Eagles win 27-16

 

Leave a Reply

