Barbells and Illusions

Had a solid day off today and needed one after this past weekends events. The Crossfit competition Saturday did a number on my body. Then Sunday I woke up at 6am to head down to Landover MD to watch the Eagles once again lose against the Redskins.

I won’t discuss that game from an analytical standpoint other than that loss may have cost the Eagles their season. I suppose I’ll talk about it more at length on my next episode of High and Tight this week.

Also, High and Tight will cease at the end of 2016. It’s just time to focus efforts on other ventures. I’ll do as many shows as possible up until that point.

I enjoy days off now more than I ever had in my adult life. I personally appreciate ‘down time.’ I appreciate waking up in the morning and not having anything planned. Wake up and wing it. I never appreciated that kind of stuff. I always just worked. It’s all I’ve known. Now, I realize work just supports my lifestyle. I’m blessed and grateful to be where I am but it’s not the end all, be all for me like it used to be. For anyone, work can’t be that. There’s so much more to accomplish then to think about your job 24/7.

Maybe that’s just me. Now, I’ll clarify that I like working. It’s satisfying. It’s productive and keeps the brain going. However, taking a day or two here and there, if possible, is so vital to your mental, physical, and emotional health. It’s rejuvenating.

Had a few cups of coffee today. Wawa’s Pumpkin spice is fantastic. We purchased the 1lb bag and it’s a beautiful smell to wake up to.

Today, I attended the late morning Crossfit class as we begin our ‘Deload’ week. Fresh off an intense 8-week cycle that was very good to me it was time to recuperate and settle in before the next big cycle.

Power movement:  Snatch Balance (2, 2, 2, 2, 2, 2) up to 75% of max. WOD 1: AMRAP 6- 10 Goblet Squats, 200m Run. *Rest 2 minutes* WOD 2: AMRAP 6- 10 Kettlebell swings, 200m Run.

It all hurt. Bad. I failed horribly on the Snatch. My shoulders and neck are still bugging out from this past weekend. No excuses, I should’ve been able to lift better. I was able to find a 2-rep constant in 115lbs. Tried 120 and suffice to say, I didn’t do well. Form and confidence are the two most important factors when doing such lifts. Aggravation set in after my seventh and final attempt. I took myself out of the game, lost focus, and that was it. I had no chance of redeeming myself on this day.

I do not under any circumstances take failure well.

After the workout I wanted to get home and enjoy myself. So I watched MindFreak seasons 4 and 5 in their respective entireties. I’ve had an infatuation with Criss Angel since 2007 and it’s never wavered. I don’t know if you can call it a guilty pleasure but if you do, then all the power to ya. I just really respect and enjoy magic/illusion and he’s the greatest to ever do it. It entertains me and I love it. 512y1i7rll

Thank you, Morgan for not making me turn it off. She occupied herself doing other things like baking and wedding planning. Fun.

As the night dwindles down I’m nestled on my couch preparing for the WWE Return of Bill Goldberg. This will be one of those ‘must-see’ moments as a wrestling fan of over 20 years. Goldberg has always been that enigmatic presence in the wrestling business and I’m looking forward to seeing him inside a WWE ring for the first time since Wrestlemania 20 in 2004.

Excited for what’s next!

Site design is a work in progress. The banner is almost finished and that should be up and on display sometime this week, hopefully. Also working on owning this domain and making it barbellsandmayhem.com without having WordPress controlling everything else. Would like to post some videos up here as well.

Quote of the Day:

“Life is limited. Don’t waste a second on negativity, or a person who spews it. When your last breath comes you’ll wished that you valued and made the most of every moment.” – Criss Angel

Prayer of the Day:

Today I pray that remember how powerless I am. I control my behavior and my responses to situations and that’s literally ALL I control!

-Chris

Leave a Reply

