Eagles, Testing Week

Beginning Monday, December 19th, testing week at Crossfit Mt. Laurel commences. And as far as I’m concerned, expectations are huge on my end. I’ve been hitting rather large PR’s as of late on the deadlift, snatch, and back squat.

This eight week cycle has been an absolute bear on my body both mentally and physically. Nonetheless, I’ve learned so much about the lifts, movements, and even myself. I’ve pushed my body to some serious limits these last two months.

In reality, I could use a solid break but that’s virtually impossible. I wish I could do these workouts seven days a week. That’s unreasonable because my temple would be destroyed. Nonetheless, I’m excited for test week. In my six+ months of being in Crossfit my gains have been tremendous. I’m not looking forward to the day when my PR’s become tougher and tougher to attain. We will see.

It’s been a rough year if you’re a Philadelphia Eagles fan, like myself. I can’t stand the NFL as a whole because I think they’re greedy barbarians who do not care about the well being of human beings. That can also be said for a lot of the players that play every Monday, Thursday, sometimes Saturday, and Sunday’s. But I love the Eagles, I do. Because they only play 16 games I get more excited to watch them then any other team in Philadelphia.

However, if there’s been one positive about the Eagles this season I’d have point in the direction of Carson Wentz. I respect and love this kid. Regardless of his last 6-7 games I still believe he will be one of the best QB’s in the National Football League for a very long time. Give him Dak Prescott’s offensive line, running back, and wide receivers and we’d have a much different record than what we all see now.

What impresses me most about Wentz is how he is off the football field. He pronounces his faith in our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ any chance he gets and isn’t scared of it. He also doesn’t shove it down our throats. Something I try not to do either. He’s an incredible role model for all youth athletes and adults as well. He’s easily my favorite Philadelphia athlete and might be the most respected player in this town since Brian Dawkins.

csbrzbbueaa1t6m

Photo: Philadelphia Eagles

Wentz will be just fine. I believe this because I’ve watched a lot of football over the years and haven’t missed maybe five Eagles games in over 20 years. Wentz will win this football team a Super Bowl. I firmly believe that. The North Dakota native reminds me a lot of Aaron Rodgers just not as egotistical.

Is #11 struggling right now? Absolutely. But please don’t read into the hate you hear in the media or from your friends. Figure out your own thoughts and opinions on what you see from the man on and off the field. He’s Peyton Manning in the sense that he will endlessly study this game and tirelessly study how to correct his weaknesses. He’s a student of the game. I’m not acting as if I know for a fact through my crystal ball that everything will be okay but I know that Wentz believes in himself and believe in God enough that hard work will get him through whatever needs to be done to be successful at this highest level.

He was fully convinced that God is able to do whatever he promises.” – Romans 4:21 NLT

It’s been very hard for me to listen to sports talk radio the last few years because of the vitriol commentary that’s spewed by men who ‘think’ they have a right to judge, destroy, and tear people down and hope the masses join in on the hate. That’s sickening actually. It’s even worse when fans and good people decide to join in on the ‘fun.’

Why can’t we just sit back and enjoy that we are able to watch our favorite team and be happy when they win and upset for a few hours when they lose? Why does it have to turn into a bitter-fest for six days after? What do we gain or get out of it? Direct that energy to something positive. Not towards a freaking game. A game that we didn’t play or have any control over.

I digress.

Look, if you’re an Eagles fan be proud of that. We are a passionate group who show up no matter what their record is. And be patient with this regime. They have a lot to repair from the previous leaders. And we have Wentz, whom I believe in 100% to win a Super Bowl in Eagles green.

I mean how can you not love this guy after seeing things like this:

Prayer of the Day:

“Today I pray that I not fear change so much, but rather stay open minded for the new direction and welcome the surprises change brings.”

Leave a Reply

